30일간의 연인 소설 part 2

Finally the long overdue second part! However, I did have it written in my notebook for a while and have even started on the third part. It usually takes some time in order to look up what I don’t know or keeps appearing so frequently that  I write it down too. This one cover from pages 14 to 27 (13 pages).

I. Most Frequently Seen Words:

1. 그러나- However, nonetheless.

2. 내려앉다- Collapse, fall in, cave in (on). It can also mean to be surprised but I believe in the context I read it is the first.

3. 소리치다- shout, yell, cry out, call out.

4.개강-Lecture (as in class).

5. 속이 쓰리다- to have a burning feeling in the stomach. 

6. 평소- usual.

7. 느낌표- exclamation mark (!). (I thought at first that it had to do with something different XD)

8. 장소- place

9. 유령처럼- Like a ghost

II. Grammar Patterns Frequently Used:

*1. V+듯(이): It means ‘like’ (something) or ‘as if’ in English. It can act like a post-modifier meaning that it admits past tense, future tense, etc. i.e  누구나 그렇듯이….If there’s a modifier such as -던, it would be V+던 듯(이).

2. V+아/어라: Plain form of Imperative sentences. It works for emphasizing an action. i.e 하늘이 울려라 고함을 쳤다 ( He/she shouted to the high heavens).

3. V+자마자: It indicates that something occurs immediately following the end of some event or action. The subjects of the clauses can either be the same or different. i.e 우산 사자마자 잃어버렸어요.

*4. A/V + (으)ㄴ 채(로): It indicates a state in which an action or situation takes place. It can be translated as “just as it is”,”[while] doing”  or “being in the state of” in English. i.e 차 속에 앉은 채로 3시간을 보냈다 (I spent three hours [while] sitting in the car).

**5. V+(으)려(고): It expresses the intention or plan of the speaker. It indicates that the speaker will do what is stated in the second clause to accomplish what is stated in the first one. This expression shouldn’t be used in imperative sentences. i.e 한국인과 이야기하려고 한국말 배워요.

6. V+던: This expression is used when remembering a behavior or habitual act but it is no longer done in the present. i.e 어머니께서 다니시던 대학교에 저도 다니고 있어요. (I attend the same university my mother used to attend).

*It is very common to see very frequently in literary texts so it’s best to understand it.

**For reference: a clause is a  is the smallest grammar unit that can express a complete proposition and it has a subject and predicate.

I don’t think I can quite wrap my head around number 4…so I may start practicing that grammar pattern in a future but as I keep reading the novel I get what is but not enough to be able to incorporate it into my writing just yet. At least, I hope the explanations are clear enough for everyone else.

One thought on “30일간의 연인 소설 part 2

Leave a comment